Transport and Covid-19: responses and resources

About the Multilateral Quota

The Multilateral Quota is a system of transport licenses for pan-European road haulage. Introduced on 1 January 1974 by the European Conference of Ministers of Transport (ECMT, which evolved into the ITF in 2006), these licenses enable hauliers to undertake an unlimited number of multilateral freight operations in 43 European member countries participating in the system. The Multilateral Quota is managed by ITF’s Road Transport Group (RTG), which allocates licenses to the 43 member countries of the system and publishes a User Guide.

From its inception, the Multilateral Quota was seen by the Council of Ministers as practical step towards the gradual liberalisation of road freight transport which could only be achieved in conjunction with joined efforts of member States towards the harmonisation of the terms of competition both between road hauliers from different countries and between modes of transport.

By introducing standards regarding noise and exhaust emissions for the "green" lorry and even stricter emission standards as well as safety requirements for the "greener and safe" lorry and successively, for the "EURO III safe", "EURO IV safe", "EURO V safe", and, from 1 January 2014, "EURO VI safe" lorry, the multilateral quota also promotes the use of environmentally friendly and safe vehicles and thus contributes to ensuring sustainable mobility.

In May 2015, Ministers approved a Quality Charter for Road Haulage Operations under the ECMT Multilateral Quota System, establishing qualification standards for companies, managers and drivers. The Quality Charter entered into force on 1 January 2016.

Quality Charter Version française Russian version       Amendments to Annexes 3 and 5  

Statement from Ministers of European Member Countries on a Quality Charter for International Road Haulage Operations under the ECMT Multilateral Quota System Version française Russian version

Member countries participating in the quota system:

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Türkiye, Ukraine and United Kingdom.

Share this page