Transport and Covid-19: responses and resources

The Innovative Mobility Landscape: The Case of Mobility as a Service | Japan Event

This webinar presents the conclusions of the report "The Innovative Mobility Landscape: The case of Mobility as a Service (MaaS)" with a focus on the Japanese context. Please register here to participate. Participation is free.

The event will share a framework for defining the path to sustainable mobility, provide insights from the ITF Transport Outlook 2021, and then discuss the role of digital mobility services and Mobility as a Service (MaaS) in achieving our common goals. A series of interactive interventions by speakers from the public and private sectors will outline the challenges and opportunities of MaaS and the means to realize them. 

The webinar is hosted by the International Transport Forum (ITF) and World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) via Zoom video conferencing with simultaneous interpretation services (English and Japanese), sponsored by the Research Institute for Road and Street (RIRS) and Japan Transport and Tourism Research Institute (JTTRI). Participants may download the application for free or connect through a web browser when they receive the meeting invitation.

The key theme for the event: What are the real challenges to achieve sustainability in Japan's transport sector, specifically regarding:

  • MaaS as an ecosystem
  • Digital literacy
  • Demographic targets (urban areas / rural areas)
  • Infrastructure (data sharing, data syntax, the elements of data to be shared, data portability for travellers)
  • Public vs private roles and the enablers of collaboration
  • Carbon reduction opportunities of MaaS

The report The Innovative Mobility Landscape: The case of Mobility as a Service is available for free download. 

Programme

Master of Ceremonies: Ms. Asuka Ito (ITF Policy Analyst and co-author of the report)

09:00–09:25 CEST | 16:00–16:25 Japan time 

Opening Session (25 min)

  • Dr. Young Tae Kim (Secretary-General, ITF)
  • Mr. Peter Bakker (President and CEO, WBCSD)
  • Mr. Yasuhiro Okanishi (Vice-Minister for International Affairs, Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism, Japan)
  • Mr. Masafumi Shukuri (Chairman, JTTRI)

09:25–09:55 CEST | 16:25–16:55 Japan time
Main findings from the report

Keynote: Mr. Philippe Crist, Advisor Innovation and Foresight, ITF

Commentators:

  • Ms. Victoire Champenois (Policy Officer, DG MOVE, European Commission) 
  • Ms. Karen Vancluysen (Secretary General, Polis Network)
  • Dr. Haruo Ishida (Chairman RIRS and Emeritus Professor, University of Tsukuba)

09:55–10:40 CEST | 16:55–17:40 Japan time
Panel 1: MaaS as an Ecosystem 

MaaS is still very much an evolving concept, and its particular implementations depend on different levels of operational, informational and transactional integration. Japan presents a unique case where national government policy has sought to explore and adapt different MaaS models to specific targeted outcomes. This panel will focus on exploring the different roles that exist in a Japanese MaaS ecosystem. This will also feature the differences of the Japanese MaaS ecosystem in comparison with other countries.

Moderator: Mr. Thomas Deloison (Director of Mobility, WBCSD)

Discussants:

  • Mr. Hideharu Matsuoka (Executive Vice President, Connected Company, Toyota Motor Corporation) 
  • Ms. Miki Haruyama (Division General Manager, Business Partnership Development Division, Nissan Motor Co., Ltd.)
  • Mr. Ichiro Kawanabe (Chairman, Nihon Kotsu Co.,Ltd.)
  • Mr. Takashi Kanda (Manager, MaaS Planning, Digital Solution Headquarters, West Japan Railway Company)
  • Mr. So Morita (Manager, Transportation Infrastructure HQ, Tokyu Corporation)

10:40–10:50 CEST | 17:40–17:50 Japan time
Break

10:50–11:30 CEST | 17:50–18:30 Japan time
Panel 2: MaaS to achieve societal outcomes
Session 1: MaaS for more inclusiveness: Demographic challenges (40 min)
The motivations for seeking to develop MaaS in Japan are diverse and typically go beyond simply wanting to mitigate the traffic, equity and environmental impacts of car use in urban contexts. MaaS promises to improve efficiency for better integration of existing public transportation. This session will explore how MaaS can contribute to improve demographic challenges and digital literacy issues that many Japanese communities are experiencing.

Moderator: Ms. Jenny Milne (Founder of the Scottish Rural and Islands Transport Community (SRITC), Researcher at the University of Aberdeen, Member of the ITF Working Group Innovative Mobility for the Periphery, TBD)

Discussants:

  • Dr. Fumihiko Nakamura (Project Professor, The University of Tokyo)
  • Mr. Hiromi Kato (General Manager, Connected and Shared Solution, Company Business Promotion Division, Aisin Co., Ltd.)
  • Mr. Yuki Saji (CEO and Founder, Boldly)

11:30–12:05 CEST | 18:30–19:05 Japan time
Session 2: Multi-modality for decarbonisation
The Government of Japan has declared that Japan would realize carbon-neutrality by 2050. This session will discuss whether the current Japanese mobility system is ready for achieving zero carbon emission, and how MaaS can contribute to tackle this challenge.

Moderator: Ms. Malithi Fernando (Modeller/Analyst, ITF)

Discussants:

  • Dr. Yoshihiro Suda (Professor, Advanced Mobility Research Center, Institute of Industrial Science & Mobility Innovation Collaborative Research Organization, The University of Tokyo)
  • Mr. Shigekazu Fukunaga (Director, ITS and Autonomous Driving Promotion Office, Automobile Division, Manufacturing Industries Bureau, Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan)
  • Mr. Sampo Hietanen (CEO and Founder, MaaS Global Ltd.)

12:05–12:45 CEST | 19:05–19:45 Japan time

Panel 3: Data architecture to enable MaaS
Governance of transport services must consider the regulation of services and conditions of the transport service market, as well as the integration of transport services into multimodal offerings. Governance of MaaS should be vision-led, scaled to the right functional area and informed by a reactive monitoring and policy adjustment framework. There is no MaaS without data – or, more precisely, without data sharing among all MaaS stakeholders. This session will address the lessons learnt from data architecture to enable MaaS in Japan and European countries.

Moderator: Mr. Philippe Crist, Advisor - Innovation and Foresight, ITF

Discussants:

  • Mr. Atsuya Kawada (Director, New Mobility Service Division, Policy Bureau, MLIT, Japan)
  • Mr. Yosuke Hidaka (CEO, MaaS Tech Japan)
  • Mr. Ross Curzon-Butler (Chair of City Data Specification for Mobility Working Group, City of
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Mr. Makoto Koike (Deputy General Manager, MaaS Team, Sony Intellectual Property Services Corporation)
  • Mr. Thomas Geier (Mobility and Transport Specialist, European Metropolitan Transport Authorities)

12:45–13:00 CEST | 19:45–20:00 Japan time
Next Steps: Towards a Sustainable transport in Japan through MaaS

  • Mr. Thomas Deloison (Director of Mobility, WBCSD)
  • Mr. Philippe Crist (Advisor - Innovation and Foresight, ITF)
  • Dr. Haruo Ishida (Chairman RIRS,  Emeritus Professor, University of Tsukuba)

Share this page

Feedback